Proven Performance

Proven Performance

With millions of working hours on tens of thousands of units since the Tier 4 Interim product introductions, you can be confident in the quality and value of your Cat® Tier 4 Final investment.

At Caterpillar, we know you’re under constant pressure to do more work at a lower total cost with less environmental impact. Our Tier 4 solutions help you do that. We redesigned the product line from the inside out, putting decades of innovation expertise to work on your behalf. The result is a new generation of engines that meets your high expectations for reliability, performance, fuel efficiency and component life, while producing significantly fewer emissions.

Systems integration boosts power, saves fuel

Cat® product designers work collaboratively, using advanced modeling and analysis tools to integrate components, systems, electronics and aftertreatment technologies. Our integration experience allows us to optimize power, fuel economy and emissions reduction.

Integrated manufacturing improves quality

Our position as the largest vertically integrated manufacturer in our business gives us the power to build premium-quality products. We integrate manufacturing advancement into product designs and use common production processes across the manufacturing base. As a result, we can deliver exceptional quality right from the start.

Tier 4 Emissions Reduction

Cat Tier 4 Final engines meet stringent emissions standards and deliver the performance and efficiency that successful businesses demand.  Like all manufacturers of diesel engines, Caterpillar is required to deliver engines that meet government emissions standards that have been phased-in throughout the United States, Canada, Japan and the European Union.

Cleaner Fuels & Oils

The emission regulations require the use of Ultra Low Sulfur Diesel Fuel (ULSD), which contains ≤ 15 parts per million sulfur (mg/kg) as well as low sulfated ash oil in Tier 4 Final engines.



Emissions standards have been systematically reducing levels of Particulate Matter (PM) and Oxides of Nitrogen (NOx) since 1996 when the first standards went into effect.

From Tier 1 (1996) levels to Tier 3 (2006), emissions standards required an approximate 65 percent reduction in PM and a 60 percent reduction in NOx.

The current phase of emissions standards, called Tier 4 Interim in the U.S., took effect in 2011. Compared to Tier 3 levels, Tier 4 Interim standards require a 90 percent reduction in PM and a 50 percent decrease in NOx. Tier 4 Final standards, which will become effective in 2014, reduce NOx by an additional 80 percent, taking PM and NOx emissions to near-zero levels.

* Engines rated 56–130 bkW (75–175 bhp) are required to meet Tier 4 Interim standards in 2012 and Tier 4 Final regulations in 2015. Engines rated >560 bkW (750 bhp) will meet Tier 4 Interim standards in 2011 and Tier 4 Final regulations in 2015 (EPA only). Standards differ by power category.